Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Creating Space

6 Comments

Yesterday and today I have been busy – not with art, or crochet, but re-organising my home to create a work space.

I don’t have anywhere that I can paint or draw in my home. Our spare room is my husband’s study as he works from home regularly – so no dusty art stuff in there. We had a dining room that we converted into a playroom for our daughter a number of years ago and it slowly deteriorated into a storage room as it doesn’t have good light (there is a carport over the window) and the ceiling light was atrocious.

I decided before these school holidays that I needed to sort the room out and get a table in there so I can have somewhere to work, or for my daughter to play – or so we can create together. We have one week left before she returns to school – it was time to get my finger out.

We had the ceiling fan/light replaced a couple of months ago and the amount of light in that room now is fantastic – funny how all it took was a phone call for an electrician to fix that problem! Only took me…how many years? lol

Three half-days later and I have a workable space, easily accessible storage of my art supplies, a very full garbage bin, somewhere to store my art books so I can actually find them and space for my daughter’s toys (or at least some of them as she has outgrown quite a bit of it now and is just unwilling to part with them).

K. has already christened the art table tonight, making a chalk drawing of a snowman to enter in the local Show.

No photos yet, everything is not quite done, but I’ll share some once I’m finally set-up.

Now I just have to make sure the cats don’t take over the table where I want to work.Cats now...kittens no more

 

 

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

6 thoughts on “Creating Space

  1. Oh nothing beats a good creative space, so glad you managed to fix the lighting issue, so important to have good light. I have a special lamp that has a daylight bulb for doing my cross stitch and its been in the bedroom since the quakes killed my reading lamp, and i havent done any sewing since. Cooincidence?

    Love the cats lying on the towel on the table, cats are crafty but also easily enticed to comfy spots, have used a similar technique myself 🙂 i only have one these days so its easier

    • This pic was taken a few years ago (the kittens are much bigger now) and I know I am going to have to create a padded space for them on the back of the table again so they don’t sprawl all over the place (though I don’t think it will stop them!).
      I love the daylight bulbs – I also have a small crafting lamp like that. makes such a difference to working at night.
      I wouldn’t say it will be a great working space, but it will be so much better than nothing. Another challenge will be making sure my daughter doesn’t take it over 🙂

  2. How exciting Elaine! Good for you for perservering. It is not easy claiming our art/creative space. Before I had a studio, I also had various rooms in the house and it always seemed I needed to accommodate others, which is fine if a little space stays open for you, too! May your new space bring you joy, and I will look forward to the photos!

  3. May you spend many happy and creative hours in there! 🙂

Thanks for leaving a comment!

