Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Knitting for friends

Leave a comment

So, I have had a little project this week. A friend of mine lives in Germany and the temperatures have been slightly on the freezing side lately. A small hint was dropped to any friends who knit (which I think is just me? lol) that a beanie would be useful as it is hard to find ones that are not awful or that fit well.

I knitted a heavy cotton one a few years ago but whilst they are warm enough for Australia, they are not quite warm enough in Europe. So I found a new pattern and had some wool in the cupboard (Patons Cashmerino – a lovely blend of cashmere and wool – Aussie made) and set to work. Two days later – a finished beanie.

Beanie for B_1The red is not showing quite right – still learning how to adjust colours in PS – but here ’tis.

Many thanks to my model…

Beanie for B_2

Tomorrow it will begin wending it’s  way towards Germany.

I have another pattern for an all rib beanie which I will make as well once I find out if this one fits well or not. It is always nicer when you are making something for a friend.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

