Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Soft Pastels: Kookaburra

5 Comments

It feels so good to have space at home to paint/draw/play again. So today after I dropped K off at school I returned home and started getting dusty! I felt the itch to get out my pastels and draw an animal, so I pulled out my trusty reference pics and found a pic I took of a kookaburra a few years ago in the backyard of a friend’s place.

Eye_webAs always I started with the eye (only one in this pic).

Kookaburra_1_webTook this after I started to lay some colour on the rest of the bird.

Kookaburra_2_webI decided to get some background colour in.

This is where I finished for today. I can see lots still to do, especially flattening the railing the bird is sitting on and the feathers on his back.

Such fun!

 

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

5 thoughts on “Soft Pastels: Kookaburra

  1. A lovely start! Such a beautiful twinkle in that eye.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

