Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Soft Pastels: Kookaburra (work in progress)

Leave a comment

Here is the next instalment of the Kookaburra I am currently drawing.

Kookoburra_3_webI was unhappy with the background so I changed it. Pastels are a great medium to change. I suppose I should have sketched it out beforehand and made the decision before I put chalk to paper, but sometimes what you think will look good doesn’t pan out – so you change it.

The best thing about the change of what the Kooka is standing on is that I can now draw his tail in properly, instead of just a thin line of tail.

The background still needs a lot of work and I haven’t put the Kooka’s shadow in yet. But not really that much more to do on him – just finishing touches.

This is probably about four hours work so far. I am working on a half sheet of Art Spectrum Colourfix paper in Rose Grey (33cmx48cm or 13″x19″). I am using Rembrandt, Windsor & Newton and Art Spectrum softies. Also Faber Castell Pitt pastel pencils for detail.

 

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

