Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Owls are Everywhere

4 Comments

I have a girlfriend who loves owls. She has been collecting them for years… not real ones!! It used to be really hard to find new owls for her. Not any more – they are everywhere!

And with my crochet kick, I have been hunting around for things to make and came across these cute/ugly guys over at The Green Dragonfly. Janette, referred her readers onto Bunny Mummy for an easy tutorial to make these cute little owls, so I decided to give it a go. Last night.

Had to pop out to Hobby Sew to pick up some soft filling to finish him off, which I did this afternoon.

Oggley the Owl_webI’ve called him Oggley the Owl, what with his large vintage button eyes and his rather off-beat style. He will be making his home at my girlfriend’s place – a birthday present.

Now to see what else I have in my stash to create some more.

Such fun!
(I have been watching too much Miranda)

PS. Thought I’d drop in a pic of some real owls, although I think Tawny Frogmouths aren’t real owls either. Oh, well…

Tawny FrogmouthsNot the best pic, but I love the way they are huddled up waiting for the sun to warm them

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

4 thoughts on “Owls are Everywhere

  1. Loving Oggley!!! Twoooo cute too! Jxx

    • Thanks Janette. And thanks so much for sharing your owls and the link to the pattern. They are so easy and a lot of fun to make. He is my first toy in crochet. I’m thinking of putting some lavender sachets in these owls when my lavender blooms. I think they would work really well with that.

  2. Wow, this is really cute! I love the colors too, great work!

Thanks for leaving a comment!

