Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Enough Owls already!

5 Comments

I promise this will be the last crochet owl post for a while!

Here is the latest addition…

Owlene_web… meet Owlene (a rather cute name devised by my daughter)

A few more modifications to the original pattern – larger eyes and I have crocheted a beak that I stitched on rather than an embroidered beak. I love the flapping wings instead of sewing them down. You can model the owls and make them fly! (I think I’m becoming an owl tragic!) I’m really happy with these modifications and will probably use them in future versions.

And here are the three little birds…

Three Little Owls_webI love that the same pattern has been used but each one has its own personality – a wonky stitch here, a crooked eye there, a long or short haircut, googly eyes or gimlet, a slight modification and they are their own little character.

Creating is such fun!

Thanks again to Janette (at The Green Dragonfly) and Jacquie at Bunny Mummy for the inspiration and original pattern.

Update: 5pm Monday – My daughter woke up with a temperature this morning so we’ve had a quiet day at home – and there are now two more owls in the collection. K chose the colours for one of them, which she wants to name ‘Burgertroyd’ to go with Murgatroyd, and he had to be the colours of a hamburger. The things kids come up with πŸ™‚

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

5 thoughts on “Enough Owls already!

  1. I like them all πŸ˜€

  2. They are all very cute! Thank you for sharing! πŸ™‚

  3. I love them!! I made three too!!!

    • i belong to a local community group and I took them in to show them. The ladies all loved the owls and want to make some too! We do a lot of work for charity so I may make some to donate to raise some money towards that.

  4. Pingback: Rainy but successful day at Blacktown Show | Mississhippi's Madness

Thanks for leaving a comment!

