Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Soft Pastel/Conte: St Bartholomews

8 Comments

I am trying something different for me. I have been wanting to draw St Bartholomews, Prospect, for a while. It is one of the oldest churches in Sydney. It is no longer used as a church but is maintained for its historical importance. Every year they have an open day which I attend when I can – there is a stall there each year with the best cupcakes (honestly, that’s not why I go!).

St Barts_1_webAt this stage it is just a sketch, and an incomplete one as I ran out of time (had to get dinner).

I haven’t worked on black before, so I am unsure how this will work out. I am sketching in with Conte crayons – and may complete it just in them as well – I haven’t decided yet. The photo I took was taken in daylight but I am going to convert it to black/grey/white and make it a tonal drawing.

I think the influence of how much I like black/white in printmaking has steered my choice in this. I like the contrast and I think working in black and white can only improve my ability to judge tones in colour.

I need to work on this fairly quickly as I would like to enter it into a local competition. We’ll see how I go.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

8 thoughts on “Soft Pastel/Conte: St Bartholomews

  1. Good start. I’m looking forward to updates on this.

  2. I agree. This has my attention. The foreground is very interesting!

    • Thanks Robyn. I’m not sure how it is going to turn out. I have a good set of grey conte crayons which should help with tones. I may have to add some colour, but I’ll see. And if all else fails, I’ll just go over it in soft pastel and turn it into a colour drawing πŸ™‚

  3. Great idea, working on black πŸ™‚

Thanks for leaving a comment!

