Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Bartering Craft

3 Comments

A friend and I decided to make a trade last year.

Back in the 1980s I had stitched some bargello cushion covers. They had been rolled up in storage since then as I don’t sew much – in the too hard basket! I brought them to the craft group for a display and Nic said she’d be happy to turn them into cushions for me.

On the same day I was sharing a new knitting book I had and Nic saw a hat in she she loved, but she doesn’t knit at all. One of the other crafty ladies suggested a trade – a hat for the cushions. A barter was born!

We both had other projects on the go so there was no pressure. I ordered the wool from Blue Sky Alpacas and started knitting, Nic started to think about what colours would work best with the tapestries.

Last weekend we had an Open Day exhibition. Nic decided to get the cushions ready to go into the display and surprised me with them on Tuesday. I knew I had to pull my finger out and finish that hat – which I did for Sunday, the Open Day.

Here are the cushions with their covers…

Bargello cushions_1_webThe blue one was the original pattern in a kit. I went and chose the other colours and worked them using the same pattern

Bargello cushions_2_webThe backs Nic chose were perfect and she made them so they are easy to pull the cushion out and wash if needed.

Bargello cushions_3_webThere were two other cushions I made. This is one of them. The last one is in 1970s oranges and browns (it was a kit I was given) – I have donated that one to the group to sell on one of the craft stalls. Its amazing to think those colours are popular again now.

And here is the hat (with a very happy Nicole modelling it for me)…

Nic's Slouch Hat_1 Nic's Slouch Hat_2The alpaca wool was beautiful to work with.

This is one of the best things about belonging to a community art and craft group. Everyone is willing to share their time and experience to help each other. We’ve both ended up with something beautiful and handmade that we couldn’t have done for ourselves.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

3 thoughts on “Bartering Craft

  1. Well done with the swap idea, That was very clever thinking. I love the cushions too.

    • Hi Sheila, have you visited bacginc.blogspot.com? I have put up the photos from the Pam Green Open Day. There is also a link to it from the Facebook page.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

