Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Soft Pastels: St Bartholomew’s work in progress

Leave a comment

The saga continues…(lol)

St Barts_8_webThis week I started adding a really light grey to the trees to start seeing where the light falls, and I have developed the light areas more. I have pushed the facade of the church more into the background and just need to do a bit more work on the windows to finish that area.

For those of you who don’t know me well and have not seen too much change between pictures of this piece, I should explain… I only work on pastels once a week and for about two hours. I don’t work on pastels at home as I don’t have a studio and I wouldn’t use the dusty things in my home as I know they can cause inhalant problems. This blog is a really useful tool to look back on the progress of my work – it helps me to be more objective about a piece than I am when I am looking at the original. So, this pic is the 8th one, which means about 16 hours work so far. That is the really good thing about working in increments – I can keep track of how long a piece takes to draw, and I get the time to sit back and view the work and decided where I need to go next.

Thanks to everyone who follows my blog and to those who comment – I really appreciate your support of my work.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

