Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Only xx more days until Christmas

1 Comment

By xx of course I mean I have no idea and I don’t want to even think about it yet!

But it can’t be helped, especially if you want to make presents for people, and craft takes time, so here I am starting to make goodies for Xmas.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNGExcuse the quality of the pics, they were taken on my phone in poor light, but you can see what I’ve been making so far. Still have to stitch the ends in and block them, but they are cute.

So far I’ve made three icicles and one large and two small trees from one 50g ball of Moda Vera Gelato (50% cotton, 50% acrylic), which is really nice to work with, and used a 2.5mm crochet hook. I probably still have enough to make another small tree. I’m going to try adding beads as Xmas baubles to the next tree I make to see if that works. I’m also making a few Xmas brooches with flowers or holly – not sure yet how they will turn out.

We have a craft market coming up at my local community art & craft group at the end of October so I think a few of these on the stall will sell.

I just have to learn how to block crochet now, which I haven’t done before. That will be interesting. Those kindergarten learnt gluing skills should set me up well for that.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Only xx more days until Christmas

Thanks for leaving a comment!

