Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Photos from my Car

Leave a comment

I’ve been spending a lot of time in my car of late, running around to help my mum as she can’t drive for 6 months. Sometimes when I’m sitting at lights or waiting at a cross road, I see things that I wish I could photograph – very rarely do I get the chance to take a photo when I’m at the wheel. But twice in the last week I was held up at lights and a train cross road and grabbed out my camera to capture an image I thought could be worth it.

From the car_1I didn’t even get the time to roll down the window for this one but I kind of like the ghost effect in it – it mirrors the water marks on the concrete. I was drawn to the lines in the space under the motorway.

From the car_2I was waiting at a train crossing (a long wait) but wished I’d framed this a little better and got more of the tree in it – I know I can find this spot again but whether I’ll be able to stop in the exact spot again whilst the train crossing is closed is another thing. I did get to roll down the passenger window for this one … plenty of time. Once again this was about the lines but in a different way – clouds, branches, fence and landscape. This second photo I can probably use as a basis for a drawing.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

