Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Halloween 2014

2 Comments

My daughter has been begging for a Halloween party for a couple of years so this year I told her to put together a plan for what she wants the party to be, show to me and her dad and we’ll decide if we could do it. She just wanted 4 friends, some party food, some games and a scary movie. I liked how she didn’t go too overboard so the party was on.

But, it had to be mostly hand-made, so we started with decorating the front door so people would know they could come and trick or treat at our house. I found some great pictures on Pinterest and got inspired – some cardboard, crepe paper and pipe cleaners and voila…

Halloween 2014_1

And for some home made food…

Halloween 2014_2

Jelly filled oranges (with a surprise inside). Ran out of time to carve them so a little Sharpie art helped out. There were some cupcakes with spiders made of marshmallow and licorice and icing spider webs but I forgot to get a pic of them before they were all gone.

And for a healthier dessert option…

Halloween 2014_3

This definitely suits the southern hemisphere Halloween more than a pumpkin I feel as we are going into summer not winter – and it is much easier to carve. And the kids loved it!! I’ll be making something like this again next year I think even if we don’t have a party!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Halloween 2014

  1. What a terrific party πŸ™‚

Thanks for leaving a comment!

