Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Beagle Pup… time to rest it

4 Comments

I feel like I’ve been working on this pup for ages (and yes it has been ages as I have had long breaks in between working on it) so I need to lay down the pastels on this one, put it aside and find something new. I can see where I still need to work. It won’t take long, but I just need to stop.

Beagle Pup_wip5_web

If I keep working on it I think I will ruin it, turn it into mud. So in a few months I will revisit it and decide if I want to pick it up again.

So last Saturday, instead of wrecking this, I pulled out some charcoal and just sketched. It is rough but that is what this was all about. I wanted to get something on paper and play, not worry if the detail wasn’t right, not think about straight lines and perspective (at least not much), forgetting about perfection.

Irene's Pickles_webIt is unfinished, scrappy, crooked, smudged, and it was so much fun to do. I think the Beagle had lost the fun and I needed to find it again.

There is lots more I could do with this but you know what? it is just a sketch.

 

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

4 thoughts on “Beagle Pup… time to rest it

  1. Both beagle and still life look great!

  2. ‘Just’ a sketch? It’s terrific

Thanks for leaving a comment!

