Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

H2O Journal contined

Leave a comment

Class again this week and it was fun. Mostly because I learnt how to bind a journal together using coptic stitch (I think that’s right).

Coptic binding 1_web

The stitch looks great and was quite easy to learn. I want to try this and make a few other journals in different sizes.

I also fixed the front and back cover to reduce the amount of paint on them so they look more distressed than badly painted!

Once I finished binding it was onto the next exercise, but first, to finish up the colour palette page for the wax pastels

wax pastels update_web

The new exercise this week was to use Aqua colour markers. Tania brought in a small plate and some fresh strawberries and I was to draw with the markers straight onto the page, no sketching first.

2016 Jun 02_web

It sort of looks like a plate of strawberries. Not my favourite medium, but I can’t rule them out until I’ve tried them some more.

And in a side note, I have seen this fantastic photo of a dog that I want to draw with pastels. Haven’t felt inspired for a while so hopefully I can get some time to work on that.

 

 

 

 

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

